According to the Department of Motor Vehicles in the State of California, there were 123,548 DUI arrests made in 2017. While that number has been steadily going down over the past decade, the number is still high. If you have been arrested for a DUI in California, you are probably overwhelmed and uncertain of your next steps.
Attorney Ryan Roth has provided residents of Modesto and the rest of California with compassionate counsel and aggressive advocacy. He has stood up for the little guy using his experience and extensive knowledge of the law. Set up a consultation today to start moving forward.
When someone is caught drunk driving in California, they can be charged with a DUI. A DUI (driving under the influence) is very serious and can affect a person’s criminal record.
It is also important to note that one does not need to be driving to be charged with a DUI. For example, you can be in a parked car under the influence and still be charged.
This is why you should never get behind the wheel while drunk. However, if you’ve been charged with a DUI, you may wonder what your next steps are, and how you might combat these charges.
When one is arrested with a DUI, they are subjected to a DUI test, which seeks to see their blood-alcohol content. Before a lawful arrest is made, in Modesto, California or elsewhere in the state of California, someone can refuse to take a field sobriety test.
Once a lawful arrest has been made, however, the person is required to take a DUI blood or breath test. If the person refuses a test at this point, they are subject to certain penalties, such as a license suspension.
Your rights are important. Remember, initially, you can refuse sobriety tests. But under the implied consent law, you must submit a DUI test or risk the penalties.
It is important to remember that a DUI comes with several penalties that can greatly affect the person charged. Consider the penalties for a first-time DUI recipient:
Fines that can range between $309 and $1,000 for a misdemeanor charge and up to $5,000 for a felony charge (a felony involves an aggravating circumstance such as injury or death)
Jail time—for a misdemeanor offense can be anywhere from 48 hours to six months for a misdemeanor offense, unless probation is given by the judge. Felony charges can carry a hefty prison sentence.
Receiving a suspended license for up to six months
These penalties can become greater with each subsequent DUI charge. Note that DUI charges can be elevated to felonies—such as a fourth DUI conviction within ten years.
These penalties should not be taken lightly, either. A DUI will become part of a criminal record, and these penalties get more severe over time. To help avoid these penalties and others, it is best to reach out to a DUI defense attorney for skilled guidance.
In the state of California, an ignition interlock program is in place for repeat offenders. This program requires an ignition interlock device to be wired to a person’s car. Each time they want to drive the car, they must give a breath sample to prove they are not under the influence. The car will not start unless the breath sample comes back clean and within the limits of the law.
The ignition interlock program can be ordered by the court as part of your DUI, or you may choose to install one yourself. This program exists to help individuals avoid drunk driving, which in turn will allow many people to avoid the disastrous consequences of a DUI.
DUI charges can come out of nowhere to up-end your life. Attorney Ryan Roth helps clients get back on their feet and back on the road in Modesto, Stockton, Manteca, Merced, and throughout California. You deserve a fiercely compassionate defender of your legal rights—set up a consultation with Attorney Ryan Roth today.